ETERNAL REST 

img_0503

“Introit and Kyrie” by YouTube and chant blog.blogspot.com

AN APPEAL TO HEAVEN

A quality music video linked here

The lyrics of this beautiful video describe  an ancient mass or Requiem (Missa pro defunctis) of which is a long 13th century hymn Dies Irae (by Thomas of Celano) interpreted. A requiem mass, the words are fixed and are set to the Gregorian chant but instead of Miserere nobis, ‘Have mercy on us’, Give them rest is used,  [“Dona eis requiem“]. (Sung beautifully in Latin.)

Text: Psalm 37:7-9 Rest in the Lord; wait patiently for him to act. Don’t be envious of evil men who prosper. Stop your anger! Turn off your wrath. Don’t fret and worry—it only leads to harm. For the wicked shall be destroyed, but those who trust the Lord shall be given every blessing. (Biblegateway.com/Message)

[You may ask, Charles, why is this so significant to you now? And I have to admit, that following last week’s study of the great mysteries of the church–which we all need to know, to receive the Gospel properly–my graceful wakeup was only to share the beauty. Heaven is calling! Can we even imagine heavenly beauty? And don’t we want everyone to .be there?]

Requiem Aeturnum

“Eternal rest give unto them, O Lord

And let perpetual light shine upon them

A hymn, O God, becometh Thee in Zion

And a vow shall be paid to thee in Jerusalem

Hear my prayer

All flesh shall come before you

Eternal rest give unto the dead, O Lord

And let perpetual light shine upon them

Eternal rest give unto them, O Lord

And let perpetual light shine upon them.

Short choral requiem mass, hymnary.org

Kylie Eleison

Lord, have mercy on us.

Christ, have mercy on us.

Lord, have mercy on us.

Dies Irae

[Today, talking over coffee, Viv (wife) shared with me about her friends’ husbands passed away so differently. One called her as usual to catch up, usually monthly, and said as an aside, ‘Oh, Charles is dead.’ Viv asked, ‘When?’ And her friend told her that ‘It was two weeks ago.’ ‘Why didn’t you tell me sooner?’ Viv asked.  ‘I didn’t feel I needed to.’ . . . Another friend called her in the very hour of her husband’s death, and Viv said she was sitting there looking at his still warm body. In both instances, the deaths were expected and planned for, but the friend known longest, was not the closest.]

This day, this day of wrath

shall consume the world in ashes,

as foretold by David and the Sibyl.

What trembling there will be

When the judge shall come

to weigh everything strictly!

The trumpet, scattering its awful sound

Across the graves of all lands

Summons all before the throne.

Death and nature shall be stunned

When mankind arises

To render account before the judge.

The written book shall be brought

In which all is contained

Whereby the world shall be judged

When the judge takes his seat

all that is hidden shall appear

Nothing will remain unavenged.

What shall I, a wretch, say then?

To which protector shall I appeal

When even the just man is barely safe?

[This summer, I read in a newspaper that both parents of six children were killed in a tragic accident locally. My heart was stopped to make note of their names even to lift up to God, who is the Author and Finisher of all life. I am concerned enough to understand something about such an event. With Him there are no accidents. Both parents are in heaven.]

King of awful majesty

You freely save those worthy of salvation

Save me, found of pity

Remember, gentle Jesus

that I am the reason for your time on earth,

do not cast me out on that day

Seeking me, you sank down wearily,

you saved me by enduring the cross,

such travail must not be in vain.

Righteous judge of vengeance,

award the gift of forgiveness

before the day of reckoning.

I groan as one guilty,

my face blushes with guilt;

spare the suppliant, O God.

Thou who didst absolve Mary [Magdalen]

and heard the prayer of the thief

hast given me hope, too.

//

INTERMISSION (View of the throne here)

//

My prayers are not worthy,

but Thou, O good one, show mercy,

lest I burn in everlasting fire,

Give me a place among the sheep,

and separate me from the goats,

placing me on Thy right hand.

When the damned are confounded

and consigned to keen flames,

call me with the blessed.

I pray, suppliant and kneeling,

a heart as contrite as ashes;

take Thou my ending into Thy care.

That day is one of weeping,

on which shall rise again from the ashes

the guilty man, to be judged.

Therefore spare this one, O God,

merciful Lord Jesus:

Give them rest. Amen.

 

//
Domine Jesu (Offertorium)

Lord Jesus Christ, king of glory,

deliver the souls of all the faithful departed

from the pains of Hell

and the bottomless pit.

Deliver them from the jaws of the lion,

lest hell engulf them,

lest they be plunged into darkness;

but let the holy standard-bearer Michael

lead them into the holy light,

as once you promised to Abraham

and to his seed.

Lord, in praise we offer you

Sacrifices and prayers,

accept them on behalf of those

who we remember this day:

Lord, make them pass

from death to life,

as once you promised to Abraham

and to his seed.

//

Sanctus

Holy, holy, holy

Lord God of hosts!

Heaven and earth are full of your glory.

Hosanna in the highest!

//

Benedictus

Blessed is he that cometh in the name of the Lord.

Hosanna in the highest!

//

Angus Dei

O Lamb of God, that takest away the sins of the world,

Grant them rest.

O Lamb of God, that takest away the sins of the world,

Grant them eternal rest.

[Another summer event involved the drowning death of a high school dancing team member. She participated in a recreational activity where the team launched a number of individual boats, kaiaks, for an expedition along a local river. Somehow the young woman was lost, was capsized and drowned. A prayer vigil was made for the family and friends.]

Lux aeterna

Let everlasting light shine on them, O Lord

with your saints for ever:

for you art merciful.

Eternal rest grant them, O Lord;

and let perpetual light shine upon them.

With your saints for ever

for Thou art merciful.

//
Libera Me (Responsory)

Deliver me, O Lord, from eternal death

on that awful day

when the heavens and earth shall be shaken

and you shall come to judge the world by fire.

I am seized with fear and trembling

until the trial is at hand and the wrath to come:

when the heavens and earth shall be shaken.”

(credit: Requiem Web, Google)

//__________________//

[I heard this prayer chanted by the Mormon Tabernacle Choir listening to their streaming app when napping, I instantly sat up and began to research the meaning of the prayer. Wow, I heard a friend’s blog about death and felt I might comment. . .but there were no words.

Do we really know what we face in death? Here is a clearer picture. I can pray this and share this.

The last post of our theology401 blog, was also inspired by last things. Called, The Four Forces of Eternal Nature, it became the hub of all 59 posts preceding it. And dated a year ago, 9-22-15, it will be featured by my Facebook wall this week.] (Hub indexes were completed.)

The value of this material is a great deal more than than casual social blogs-stuff. But because my days are getting short, When you hear that I have passed, you can know I have been processed up. And this may well not be our last prayer.]

May Adonai bless and keep you. (In the spirit of this prayer)

Charles

@wordlifejournal Tweet me here!

Leave a Reply

