Counseling

WELCOME TO DOING COUNSELING TOGETHER 

This morning is different.  I actually found a job I would enjoy doing and get paid for it.  And my application submission was made without problem.  Can you believe this?  Of course it is a writer position, and it is work at the house, so the only challenge is to structure chores around serious writing.  Ha!  Piece of cake.  Do you think you might read this and consider the mental depravity of this activity?  I can have my cake and eat it too?

“No way man.  You need counseling.” You say.  Ok.  That I may.  But there is only one source of counseling that I would consider worthy of changing anything needing changing in my life.  I just spoke to an associate at this morning’s men’s meeting and he happened to mention his educational goals.  He wants a degree in holistic counseling.  What is that?  I asked him. and he explained it is really the Word-based kind, including the treatment of the body, mind, and spirit.  The Word refering to the Holy Bible as really the only singular source for comprehensive solutions. (At least that is what I was told.)

All right.  I can see the need for this as I have been raised in a Baptist and Pentacostal church and have always thought of it as Christian Counseling.  But it is coming up with all the other politically correct terms.  Why not call it something more folks can relate to.  So we need to look more deeply into what the Bible is saying about how the prophets of God’s Hebrew Children were given counsel to go here, or go there, or even to say this or say that.  And even we followers of God’s Only Son can hear his counsel today.

I made a vow to my mother when she was on her death-bed that I would never hurt anyone.  So when I was in the Marine Corps and headed into a combat situation, circumstances were such that I was yanked out my assignment as left door gunner in the large cargo helicopter whose mission was to transport artillery shells to the front-line valley, where shooting defensive fire against enemy fire was part of the assignment.  The chopper went down, and when all the smoke cleared, I was standing upright on one leg in the middle of a burning aircraft with four other crewmen — with large bundles of ammunition all around within the ammo dump.

Somehow I knew that my left leg was broken.  The femur had snapped.  It was everyman for himself.  So I prayed?  No, there wasn’t time, at least the kind of prayer I had learned to pray.  You know, “Our Father, ” the formal kind.  But I definitely heard a word.  And I knew instantly what to do.  I took off my flak vest, the survival knife was already torn off, and I knew to lean forward and slide head-first over the crewchief who was helping the pilot who had been injured upon impact — dislocating his shoulder and cutting his face from his broken (pilot’s) window.

The word I heard was not a human voice, but I have to consciously admit that it communicated help to me at that moment. 

Go toward the light!” 

I heard that when diving over the pilot seat to exit the aircraft onto the ground.  The light appeared to be coming from the broken window, and I made no quams about following it.  The exit to the rear that was open had to be made in a hurry because every wire harness visible along the floor of the structure was burst into flames.  They had to run out of the cargo area.  But I couldn’t even walk.  So I hit the ground in a crumpled mess and instantly was aware the fuel was on fire, and I needed to get out of it fast.

“Go toward the light!”  

The words said that I heard.  So in an instantaneous rebound from landing, the momentum carried me forward out of the flames and onto the sand directly beneath the burning forward section.  I knew the impending danger all around me, and I tried to crawl out of harm’s way, but there was no energy left.  I was totally spent.  It was then, that I consciously voiced my prayer.  “God help me to be saved or bring me home to heaven!”  Was that a prayer?  Why would I even think of an option here?

Then, I heard,  “Get up Marine, run!” 

Was the command I heard from the pilot.  Captain Bill Connelly, whom I had never met, came up to me quickly and with forceful assertion,

You try as hard as you can, I will try as hard as I can, and together we will get out of here!”  He yelled. 

The flames were making loud cracking noises as they lapped up and over the downed helicopter.

The pilot reached down grabbed me by my arm first and then around my back.  His grip was encouraging my strength.  I managed to get up on my good knee, then onto the right foot to begin hopping as he slowly did the same, and we went hobbling up the revetment that was our only hope of escape.  Slowly up to half way, almost there.  It took my total concentration and effort to get another step up while I was leaning on this man, and he would not let me go. (I had yelled back at him to go on and save himself.  But he took my life into his hands as his own personal responsibility!)  And again, slowly, up another step, and another, almost there. . . when we reached the top, suddenly,

BAAVAVOOMM!” 

The whole area within the revetment where 200 tons of eight-inch artillery rounds were exposed to the downed, burning helicopter was beginning to explode.  We were blown down the other side to safety even though covered with flames and our exposed flesh was burning.  But we were laughing about it. 

“WE MADE IT!” 

I immediately began saying the Lord’s prayer out loud, and Captain Connelly said I didn’t have to pray then.  But I remember remarking that I felt that I definitely needed to, I was so thankful to God for his help in rescuing us.

That incident of cargo helicopter downed in Vietnam burned for three days before anyone could begin clean up.  The cause was not assessed as pilot error, because the turbulance was extreme due to the terrain of the earthen revetments.  I personally admit the fault could have been put on me, as I learned in subsequent flights as crew chief that the crew is responsible to tell the pilot if there is any danger of the tailrotor hitting anything.  The rotor did collide with a ConEx storage container setting off to the side and partially on the revetment — it was higher than usual, and I guess because of the heavy load, the tail rotor was lower than usual.  So,

“WHACK!” 

And the tail pylon went flying off to achieve its own altitude record by itself.

I will conclude briefly that I did receive good counseling in this story.  It was for me to move toward the light that I was able to perceive.  There was light, sunlight that was made to shine through for me to follow.  I was instantly obedient, and despite the struggle to get out, was able to be helped and was saved.  The same message can be given to you today in this.  Look for the Light in the only book that tells us of the light source of God’s salvation (deliverance).  The Bible has the light.  The Author and Finisher of Creation is shown to us as the Lord (Adonai) Jesus (Yeshua) Christ (Messiah).  He is that Light:  “Life itself was in him, and this life gives light to everyone.”  (John 1:4 NLT)

Video:  “Can You Hear Me Now”  Dr. T.D. Jakes at Lakewood Church, Houston. (14 minutes)

Charles

2 thoughts on “Counseling

  1. Pingback: Planning | doingjourneytogether

  2. Pingback: My Vision « newcreationjourney

Leave a Reply

