Flight test

Welcome to Doing Journey Together!

I have been an avowed Christian believer for 49 years and have not really grown taller than a cricket or a grasshopper in my own eyes.  I use those critter-descriptives as an example because they are very low in the food-chain.  If we feel like we are lower in the food-chain, it may be because we had not learned the simple rules of flying in our spirit. 

Ever dream you can fly?  I sure have. (see my profile)  My purpose is to communicate how to rise to the top of the food-chain and explore the sky above it using the basic biblical principles that are easily abailable to us.

How to grow in the Spirit is to enable our spirit to begin telling our mind how to think — in Brittish vernacular — proper thoughts.  I have recently learned that our heart can fall down or stand up, and the only chance to fly comes when we are up in our mind.  Being up in our mind is listening to all the possibilities that are available.  Falling down in our mind is letting the doubts and failures occupy our frontal lobe.  We have to choose, right?

PREFLIGHT INSPECTION

I grow spiritually  reading my daily devotional each morning.  It always has the ability to get me up in mind and spirit.  It not only does that but also gets me taking-off in the Spirit Who is not limited by gravity of our fleshly concerns.  Oh, sure, I have a cup of coffee to go with it.  But I am getting into the habit of making time to get alone and quiet to focus on the Master’s words.  These brief hour-long encounters are always uplifting to me.

I am able to write in my journal the title words following the day and date.  Then I underline it and add the quotation marks.  Then the Bible chapter for reading I make reference to within parentheses.  I have a five page prayer that addresses every part and parcel of the Godhead’s (Elohim’s), the Lord Jesus’ (Adonai Yeshua’s), and Holy Spirit’s (Ruach HaKodesh’s) personhood, to worship and acknowledge in my life and voice some words of devoted appreciation for.  It was as hard to do at first as it is to read about here. (click link to see source of prayer ‘Waking The Dead’ by John Eldridge)

I am spiritually brought to the place of facing the throne of the Father in my heart.  There, I can be given my armor to put on for the battle of the day.  And putting on my armor is a prescription that has successfully blocked many spiritual attacks.  The prayer I use to do this is found in John Eldridge’s book Wild at Heart.  In the back of the book is a prayer that I have memorized and can be said as I am on my way to my office on the other side of the house from the prayer chamber / bedroom.

Can you imagine doing such a thing?  If you can, you can do it too.  It is only a start in our Christian life.  But if you were born again as long ago as I was, you will also get the message that yes, it is time to surrender to doing such a thing.  I was tired of falling and failing and falling all the time.  Life has got to be better than that.  In my heart I knew it was worth a try.  So I got this book and determined in my heart to try getting God back into my life. (There are many good devotionals in the book store)

John chapter 14 was the chapter for today.  I read the whole chapter but certain lines stood-out for me.  Like verses one through three, and 12 -14. (New Living Translation)

“Don’t let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, and trust also in me.  There is more than enough room in my Father’s home. If this were not so, would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you . . .”

“. . . I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father.  You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father.  Yes, ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it!”

Who said this?  Jesus (Yeshua) the Messiah (ha’Mashiach) did. He is the one to believe for the Father.  He personally cared  for us enough to reach our heart with the assignment he was given. He accepted to pay for us the price for our sin and enable us to dwell in the heavenly place, he died to prepare for us.  Can I briefly share with you what this can mean?  Listen to this (Faith comes by hearing, Romans 10:17)

COCKPIT CHECK 

Finding a real and lasting purpose is our objective.  I am finally convinced I can live my life as the journey of God.   It is found in the person of His Son Jesus (Yeshua).  I am led to always use the Jewish names whenever I can, to reduce the anti-semitic stigma that comes with the words in English that translate from the Greek.  The Gospel (Good News) is for the Jew first, so says Romans 1:16.

If you have never taken the opportunity to accept the promise of God to come into your heart and life, then let me present you with an opportunity to get on board the spiritual aircraft going to a heavenly place, figuratively speaking.

Reading from the verses listed as the Roman Road, that is 3:23, 6:23, 5:8, and 10:6-13

“But the righteousness that is by faith says: “Do not say in your heart, ‘Who will ascend into heaven?’” (that is, to bring Christ down)  “or ‘Who will descend into the deep?’” (that is, to bring Christ up from the dead).  But what does it say? “The word (of faith) is near you; it is in your mouth and in your heart,” that is, the message concerning faith that we proclaim:  If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.  For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you profess your faith and are saved.  As Scripture says, “Anyone who believes in him will never be put to shame.” For there is no difference between Jew and Gentile—the same Lord is Lord of all and richly blesses all who call on him,  for, “Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.”

Who said?  The righteousness that is by faith said this:  The word of faith is near you even in your mouth and in your heart to speak.  Do you see this?

If you declare, say with your mouth, that Jesus (Yeshua) is your Lord (Adonai), and believe in your heart that this is true.  Then you are saved (delivered).  For with the mouth confession of faith is made, and with the heart we believe and are justified.  Make this just as personal as you can.

When I was led to pray this prayer in the presence of a senior military officer, I was motivated to go ahead and pray.  But honestly, I was given the place to make the choice as clearly and openly as I needed to.  If in fact you have read all of this and you don’t hear your heart confirming to you:  “Hey that is something I haven’t ever heard before,  that makes sense,  I am in the market for and desire this promise of God for my personal salvation (deliverance).”

CLEARANCE FOR TAKEOFF

Then you can and should pray this in your own words to God:  “Heavenly Father, thank you for showing me this truth I have never seen before.  I confess I am a sinner and deserve death.  But I understand your love for me personally has made the perfect sacrifice for me so that I can be saved (delivered).  I receive Jesus (Yeshua) as my sacrifice and confess that he is Lord (Adonai) by faith-believing that His life for mine is a really good deal. I pray in Jesus’ (Yeshua’s) name, Amen.”

Congratulations.  You are now a born-again believer according to John chapter three.  You have done your preflight, cockpit check, and gotten clearance for takeoff.  Come aloft with me and the rest of your new family fellowship who can keep you gliding over water or flying above the dark clouds.

Let me know what you think.

In His service for you,

Charles

Music Video: US Military Themes:  Army Navy Air Force and Marines YouTube by Rafael111111117

7 thoughts on “Flight test

  1. Pingback: Navigation | doingjourneytogether

  2. Pingback: Expectation | doingjourneytogether

  3. Pingback: Centering | doingjourneytogether

  4. Pingback: Balance | doingjourneytogether

  5. Pingback: Counseling | doingjourneytogether

  6. Pingback: Happiness « newcreationjourney

  7. Pingback: My Vision « newcreationjourney

Leave a Reply

